Tuesday, February 26, 2008
Connecticut Lemon Law Information
The Connecticut Lemon Law applies when, during the first two years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle: 1) the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times. However, your car may also be eligible if you have less than four repair attempts for the same problem and can justify this is a reasonable number of repair attempts, and repairs have been performed within 2) the eligibility period, or 3) the problem is a safety defect which is likely to cause death or serious injury if the vehicle is driven, and the defect continues to exist after two or more attempts during the first year, or 4) the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 days or more, for any number of unrelated problems. To qualify for the Lemon Law, the defects must not have been caused by the consumer's abuse, neglect or unauthorized modification of the vehicle.